Peter Keane (left) and John Gleeson (right) with James Keane Best Clubman winners Lissa Lathwell and Jimmy Langdon. 130325AB03 Koroit Cricket Club cricketers of the year (from left) Matthew Lynch (division two), Christian Francis (under 17s) and Matthew Sharman (division three). 130325AB02

THE search has begun to find a new leader for the Koroit Cricket Club after Jamie McKenzie announced he will stand down as coach.

At the club’s presentation night last Friday night, at the Commercial Hotel, McKenzie said football coaching commitments and the arrival of his new baby in June meant he would not have the time to coach but would continue on as a player.

“I really enjoyed coaching and met a lot of good people at the club,” McKenzie said.

“Even though the division two team didn’t have the success we would have liked we were competitive all season and there was improvement from a lot of players within the club.”

McKenzie said the club now had some good depth with a strong group of players in division three as well as some promising juniors.

He said the division two team had a good bowling attack with two top-order batsmen on the top of the recruiting wishlist.

The presentation night saw Matthew Lynch a popular winner of the Peter Williams Club Champion award for his efforts with both bat and ball for the season.

Opening batsman Mathew Sharman won the division three cricketer of the year award, while dynamic all-rounder Christian Francis was named the under 17 cricketer of the year.

The James ‘Jim Bob’ Keane best clubman award was shared by Jimmy Langdon and Lissa Lathwell.

Both the late Peter Williams and James Keane were respected past players of the club. Club president John Gleeson awarded his president’s trophy to Bob Shanahan.


Division two Club Champion: Matthew Lynch. Batting aggregate: Jamie McKenzie 214 runs.

Batting average: Jonathan Auld 22.78.

Bowling aggregate: Janes Reid and John Geier 22 wickets.

Bowling average: John Geier 12.27.

Coach’s award: Jack Lynch.

Encouragement award: Bailen McDonald.

Division three Cricketer of the year: Matthew Sharman. Batting aggregate and average: Matthew Sharman 517 runs at 57.44.

Bowling aggregate: Lance Lloyd 21 wickets.

Bowling average: Craig Tobias 14.07.

Captain’s award: Paul Noble.

Encouragement award: Nick Smith.

Under 17s Cricketer of the year: Christian Francis.

Batting aggregate and average: Nick Smith 136 runs at 17. Bowling aggregate: Christian Francis 12 wickets.

Bowling average: Ethan Tobias 10.25.

Coach’s award: Bailen McDonald.

Encouragement award: Patrick Brady.

James ‘Jim Bob’ Keane Best Clubman Award: Lissa Lathwell and Jimmy Langdon.

President’s award: Bob Shanahan.

Similar Posts